Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next
DVD profiler in my documents
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantHom3r
920+ DVDs and counting
Registered: March 28, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 41
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I've noticed that a folder has appears in my docs this has all the info for the program, why is it here and not in the folder the program is?
www.daves-world.co.uk
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantlmoelleb
Beer Profiler now!
Registered: March 14, 2007
Denmark Posts: 630
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Hom3r:
Quote:
I've noticed that a folder has appears in my docs this has all the info for the program, why is it here and not in the folder the program is?


I do believe the correct location for the majority of the data would have been AppData, but it is better having it in the My Documents than in the program folder. You can consider hiding the folder if you do not want to see it in My Documents.

No program should store any "changing" information in the program folder (it simply will not have write permission enabling it to change the files on a proper configured XP or a default Vista).

In the past everyone used to write to Program Files folder (I know, I am one of them ), but that does not make it the right thing to do. It only worked because no one had their Windows systems configured correctly.
Regards
Lars
 Last edited: by lmoelleb
Invelos Software, Inc. RepresentativeKen Cole
Invelos Software
Registered: March 10, 2007
United States Posts: 4,230
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Vista in particular will not write files to the Program Files directory.  It virtualizes the calls and actually writes the files elsewhere.  Unfortunately, it's not perfect at doing this.

Files that the user can choose to create (databases, reports, translations, etc) are placed in the My Documents folder.  Temporary or system files that need to be written to are in the Application Data directory.
Invelos Software, Inc. Representative
 Last edited: by Ken Cole
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantHom3r
920+ DVDs and counting
Registered: March 28, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 41
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
thanks guys
www.daves-world.co.uk
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorRHo
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 2,759
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ken Cole:
Quote:
Temporary or system files that need to be written to are in the Application Data directory.

If you mean 'C:\Program Files\DVD Profiler...' with Application Data directory, this is a bad decision for Windows 2000 and XP because this directory is not writable by the user (except when he's got admin rights which he shouldn't for security reasons).

EDIT: I see that App Data is most probaly in the 'documents and settings' folder (or whatever it is named in English). Anyways 3.0.2 beta tries to access files in the program directory when I double click a credit entry or want to filter by tags and fails.
 Last edited: by RHo
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantpauls42
Reg: 31/01/2003
Registered: March 13, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 2,690
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RHo:
Quote:
Quoting Ken Cole:
Quote:
Temporary or system files that need to be written to are in the Application Data directory.


EDIT: I see that App Data is most probaly in the 'documents and settings' folder (or whatever it is named in English). Anyways 3.0.2 beta tries to access files in the program directory when I double click a credit entry or want to filter by tags and fails.


Application data is
[userprofile]\Application Data
Paul
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorRHo
Registered: March 13, 2007
Posts: 2,759
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting pauls42:
Quote:
Application data is
[userprofile]\Application Data

Yes, I do understand this. Anyways, profiler wants to write into 'c:\Program Files\...' when double clicking a credit entry or filtering by tags. Those temp files should be written to the application data directory.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRifter
Reg. Jan 27, 2002
Registered: March 13, 2007
United States Posts: 2,693
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RHo:
Quote:
Quoting Ken Cole:
Quote:
Temporary or system files that need to be written to are in the Application Data directory.

If you mean 'C:\Program Files\DVD Profiler...' with Application Data directory, this is a bad decision for Windows 2000 and XP because this directory is not writable by the user (except when he's got admin rights which he shouldn't for security reasons).

EDIT: I see that App Data is most probaly in the 'documents and settings' folder (or whatever it is named in English). Anyways 3.0.2 beta tries to access files in the program directory when I double click a credit entry or want to filter by tags and fails.


Bullhockey!  Don't tell me I shouldn't have admin rights on my own bloody PCs!  That's the problem with Microsoft.  They're so damn arrogant they think they can make all the decisions about MY system just because they're the biggest dog in the junkyard. 

Entirely too much crap gets dumped on Drive C: by people ASSuming that is where it should go.  DVDP should be fully configurable as to where it is installed.  It used to be.  I see no reason whatsoever for changing that.
John

"Extremism in the defense of Liberty is no vice!" Senator Barry Goldwater, 1964
How's that 'Hope and Change' thing workin' for ya?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRifter
Reg. Jan 27, 2002
Registered: March 13, 2007
United States Posts: 2,693
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ken Cole:
Quote:
Vista in particular will not write files to the Program Files directory.  It virtualizes the calls and actually writes the files elsewhere.  Unfortunately, it's not perfect at doing this.

Files that the user can choose to create (databases, reports, translations, etc) are placed in the My Documents folder.  Temporary or system files that need to be written to are in the Application Data directory.



Please put it back to the way you used to do it, where everything is contained in one directory and where that is placed is up to the person who owns the PC.
John

"Extremism in the defense of Liberty is no vice!" Senator Barry Goldwater, 1964
How's that 'Hope and Change' thing workin' for ya?
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorVoltaire53
Missed again!
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United Kingdom Posts: 2,249
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ken Cole:
Quote:
Files that the user can choose to create (databases, reports, translations, etc) are placed in the My Documents folder.  Temporary or system files that need to be written to are in the Application Data directory.


Is it potentially possible to give an option for this in future? My personal problem is that my work PC synchronizes all data under My Documents with the company servers and cover images blow my local storage limit out of the water (and takes ages every time I log on) ... yes it's 'unique' to me but I'm sure other users have their own unique reasons for wanting the folder elsewhere.

FWIW, in general, I agree with rifter that it would be best to keep it all in one place and let the user decide (suitable for their operating system and level of priviledge) where that place is.
It is dangerous to be right in matters where established men are wrong
 Last edited: by Voltaire53
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmnemo
Zuma!
Registered: March 17, 2007
Germany Posts: 82
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Putting user data files in the Program Files directory is just plain WRONG. It's normally not done on UNIX systems and the way how it was done in Windows should never have started.

Automatically creating a folder and files in My Documents is also wrong, IMO. The database should be in AppData and when I (the user!) create an export I can put it where I want, with My Documents as a default.

There's a nice explanation by Raymond Chen regarding this and I think he nailed it quite well. "My Documents" are my documents and nothing else. When you're backing up data, you'd be better off doing an export (and import on restore) in DVD Profiler anyway.

It's probably a religious question.
Samsung UE55C6200, Yamaha RX-V2067, Xbox 360, PS3.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmnemo
Zuma!
Registered: March 17, 2007
Germany Posts: 82
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Voltaire53:
Quote:
Is it potentially possible to give an option for this in future?

It is already. You can specify the location of the databases somewhere in the menu on the left (don't have the program here right now).
Samsung UE55C6200, Yamaha RX-V2067, Xbox 360, PS3.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmnemo
Zuma!
Registered: March 17, 2007
Germany Posts: 82
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Uh, great. Just installed DVDP, it created it's database on the network-based "My Documents" home dir and now I can't even access the drive because the quota's full.

Update: Phew! Works again. Probably only a hiccup.

Update 2: It's easy.

0. Exit DVD Profiler if it's running.
1. Copy the complete (!) DVD Profiler folder somewhere else.
2. Start DVD Profiler.
3. Select File -> Open Database.
4. Browse to the collection.dat at the new location (in DVD Profiler\Databases).
5. Enter a new name for the database.
6. Select OK.
7. Select File -> Open Database.
8. Delete the (old) Default database.
9. Delete the DVD Profiler directory at the old location.
Samsung UE55C6200, Yamaha RX-V2067, Xbox 360, PS3.
 Last edited: by mnemo
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorFunkyLA
Will you remove your hat?
Registered: March 13, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 1,136
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Can I also ask for the local database folders to be "user controlled" as to their location?

I use a networked hard-drive server set up for my "My Documents" - as this is (hopefully) easier to share files over a network

However, it does seem to make the program a little slow when accessing the DB - Cast info is very slow to work, even though my network can stream DVD iso files from this HD set up (no, not naughty rips)

Thank you - and if the DB can be moved - any one got a walk through, so I don't bugger things up
Signature? We don't need no stinking... hang on, this has been done... blast [oooh now in Widescreen]
Ah... well you see.... I thought I'd say something more interesting... but cannot think of anything..... oh well
And to those of you who have disabled viewing of these signature files "hello" (or not) Registered: July 27, 2004
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorVoltaire53
Missed again!
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United Kingdom Posts: 2,249
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mnemo:
Quote:

Update 2: It's easy.
<snip>


Thanks, I'll give it a try

(It will be nice to have my Adult covers back in my database... didn't risk having them copied to the work server!   
It is dangerous to be right in matters where established men are wrong
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantpauls42
Reg: 31/01/2003
Registered: March 13, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 2,690
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Voltaire53:
Quote:


Thanks, I'll give it a try

(It will be nice to have my Adult covers back in my database... didn't risk having them copied to the work server!   


one of the first things I did was to change the location of the data files so they are all in a little (well big now) subdirectory on my e drive so I can easily backup all the databases. And I assume that all the covers/headshots etc are contained within this single location..

not sure what would be in Application data.. I'm not backing anything up from there.. 
Paul
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next