Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Layouts and Reports Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Black square prints instead of HQ image
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantftomeo
Registered: August 10, 2007
Posts: 1
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
When designing a report, I found that if I try to print a HQ image (thumbnails = false), the preview looks ok on screen, but printing it show just a solid black box.  Anyone experience this before?
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributorlyonsden5
Hello old friends!
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Posts: 2,372
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
It's been a while since this was brought up. IF I remember correctly it has to do with overloading the memory in the printer.

Try printing just one page and see if you get the same thing.

Hopefully someone with a better memory will pop in shortly.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorRander
I hate mondays...
Registered: March 13, 2007
Denmark Posts: 593
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting lyonsden5:
Quote:
It's been a while since this was brought up. IF I remember correctly it has to do with overloading the memory in the printer.

I doubt it - it sometimes dows the same thing when I try to "print" directly to a PDF-file. It doesn't do black squares, though - it just leaves the area where the graphics should have been blank...
The future is here. It's just not widely distributed yet. (William Gibson)
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantkschmit2
Registered: Jan 08, 2004
Registered: March 25, 2007
Posts: 41
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting ftomeo:
Quote:
When designing a report, I found that if I try to print a HQ image (thumbnails = false), the preview looks ok on screen, but printing it show just a solid black box.  Anyone experience this before?


I have just run into the same problem yesterday.

Print preview is fine, final print (laser printer or Adobe PDF) produces black boxes only.

Haven't found a solution yet
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantkschmit2
Registered: Jan 08, 2004
Registered: March 25, 2007
Posts: 41
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
update:

for whatever reason it works now
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantkgudge
Registered: May 17, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 53
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Caused by a lack of memory generally. The computers not yours.

DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantastage
Registered: June 26, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 37
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting kgudge:
Quote:
Caused by a lack of memory generally. ....

Had this numerous times, but it has always been fine after exiting and restarting DVDProfiler, so likely to be a memory leak in an area reserved by DVDProfiler.  I've never had to restart the system to recover/print correctly.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantPhilSeastrand
Registered: May 26, 2007
Posts: 1
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Just wanted to add my name to the list of people with this problem.  I've been having this problem off and on for several years and always thought it was the printer driver.  As long as I restart DVDProfiler before I try to print, it works fine.

Is this going to be addressed by Invelos?
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registranteltjopoort
Registered: September 7, 2008
Netherlands Posts: 2
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Me too, this is so annoying. I've tried running on various PCs, various printers, always the same problem. Isn't it about time this was fixed?
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantmagiccornflake
Registered: April 17, 2007
Posts: 2
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
over two years and still no solution ? disappointed in the support here ...
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantI-Fling-Poo
Game over man!
Registered: December 22, 2008
Canada Posts: 76
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'll chime in and add my 2 cents (CDN$).

I've had this problem off and on as well (printing direct to printer, and to PDFCreator), and like others, exiting/restarting DVDProfiler works.  Must me a memory leak in the printer routines in DVDProfiler.

It's not critical (since there's a "work around"), but it can be very annoying.

Poo
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorSpaceFreakMicha
Jesus-Freak
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Germany Posts: 1,760
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting kgudge:
Quote:
Caused by a lack of memory generally. The computers not yours.



Don't think so. My PDF-creator uses only about 900MB of RAM when creating my report (~700 DVDs), and still I get a few black squares scattered around the whole report. And since I have around 2,7GB RAM free (and a 32 Bit application can use 2GB RAM max.), it shouldn't happen.

So yes, a fix would be nice. 
 Last edited: by SpaceFreakMicha
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantrogerr
Registered: May 31, 2007
United States Posts: 1
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I solved this problem by selecting "File" "Print" on the Print Preview window.

If I tried to just click on Print Report or Print Page icons it printed black cover images.

Hope this helps.
Invelos Software, Inc. RepresentativeForum Moderator
Invelos Forum Moderator
Registered: March 11, 2009
Posts: 211
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
This issue was resolved in version 3.6.1.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantlwizard
Registered: May 29, 2007
Italy Posts: 1
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have 3.7.2 and the problem is still there!
Win7 x64 with 4GB ram + Brother HL-3040CN with 160MB:
black boxes on printing and white boxes with acrobat.
Just very first print seems to work..
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting lwizard:
Quote:

Win7 x64 with 4GB ram

The problem might be here.

64 Bit Windows is in fact slightly under-RAM-ed with "only" 4 Gig. If you still have RAM-benches available on your Mainboard try what happens with additional (at least) 2 Gig. For not slowing your system down check the required RAM-technology and existing equipment first.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Layouts and Reports Page: 1 2  Previous   Next