Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Sony DVP-CX995v and or BDP-CX960 Question
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Just wondering, I am kinda shopping around and looking at these and I had a few questions for those that have them.

#1 Can the player play A B sides ?

#2 How picky are the players ? I have some DVD that while not damaged don't like playing on my 2 dvd players but will play just fine in both my laptops.

#3 How hard is/was it to set up the system to use DVDProfiler and slot programing ?

Thanks

-Robert
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantb00bie
Registered: 12/16/2001
Registered: April 17, 2007
United States Posts: 187
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hi

I have neither of these changers but I have some experience with Sony changer (I currently have 9 777ES changers)

1. None of the Sony's are flippers the play only one side.

2. Sony changers also tend to be picky I have issues with a few discs over the years.

3. I am not sure what you mean by this exactly, if you are looking to automate your ability to select and play a movie fro DVD Profile you might want to check in the plugin forum for a thread on LoadDVD a plugin by mediadogg. I have never used this personally but I understand it works quite well.

Hope that helps
Tom

IOS Ver. 2.1.4
iPad Mini Retina 64GB Wi-Fi iOS 8.1.1 no JB
iPad Air 64GB Wi-Fi iOS 8.1.1 TaiG 1.1 JB
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,882
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:
Just wondering, I am kinda shopping around and looking at these and I had a few questions for those that have them.

#1 Can the player play A B sides ?

#2 How picky are the players ? I have some DVD that while not damaged don't like playing on my 2 dvd players but will play just fine in both my laptops.

#3 How hard is/was it to set up the system to use DVDProfiler and slot programing ?

Thanks

-Robert

I have both units, and yes they can be a bit picky. Try cleaning the disc really well or burn a clone and try that. You could also try a quality laser cleaning disc.

If you want to use DVDP tp play discs, LoadDVD can do it very easily. You put cx995v1 or cx960v1 into the Location field, and the disc slot number in the slot field. Using USBUIRT device, you can control them with IR commands. The built-in command sequences work for most people. I have recently added the ability for you to customize the IR commands to your own environment. See the LoadDVD thread.

For the CX777ES, there is built-in support for rs-232 control, or you can also use IR commands - I think it is the same as cx985 - but check the LoadDVD thread to make sure.

Aloha, I am in Hawaii. See you next year! We can continue conversation in LoadDVD thread.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Something else I was wondering about is, are these devices daisy chain-able ?

so if I had lets say 3 of these, I would not need 3 HDMI connectors on the TV ?

Same kinda thought on the Remote control aspect of this set up.

-Robert
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
daisy chainable between what?  the players or the receivers-  /  to  the TV set..???
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Sorry,

If there are say 3 of the CX995's  or 3 CX960's can they be linked something like this :

995>995>995>TV


or would it have to be

.......TV
995/  |  \995
.......995

Using 3 HDMI connections on the TV

Or can there be a data chain between the players so one remote controls all 3 units  say Unit #1 1-400 Unit #2 401-800 Unit #3 801-1200 ?

I am trying to figure out how to get basically all my DVD's into a system like this ( I am close to 1000-1200 disks )

Sorry I hope this clears up what I am looking for.....

-Robert
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
far as I can see it would be option 2  all 3 to the TV .. If you only have two HDMI inputs use the third player  as a component input ..( rca audio jacks)  Or you may have optical inputs .. this will carry picture and sound ..

You can't hook between the decks as the DVD decks do not have inputs as well as outputs .. They are not recordable and with macro encoded discs the input values would be detectable as not as clear..

Or you may have a audio/video receiver this could be inputs and outputs with One HDMI back to the TV..

Most high end video audio decks have HDMI/optical/componant/ svhs / as well RCA video/audio JACKS ...
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
 Last edited: by widescreenforever
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,882
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:
Sorry I hope this clears up what I am looking for.....
-Robert

Yes it does, and it seems that you are looking for two different things:
(1) A way to control the changers - as though they were one big changer holding 1200 discs.
(2) A way to seamlessly connect the changers to your TV.

(1) The only way to remotely control those models of Sony changer is with infrared signals. The typical way to integrate them is to use a "universal" prgrammable remote. Your user manual shows how to set the changers so that they respond to unique codes - "1", "2" or "3". A universal remote can be programmed to send these unique codes, and you would need to program a button to switch between "1", "2" and "3". There are also software solutions. I will describe my own in the next post.
(2) Previous poster has given some good info on connectivity. If your a/v receiver or TV does not have enough inputs (HDMI / component), you can use a good HDMI swicth, such as the Oppo, which provides the star-like picture in your post. The Oppo switcher can also be controlled with infrared signals and also with RS232 (serial) port.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,882
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Now for software solutions: There are a number of programs out there that can send infrared signals from a computer, smartphones, Droid and iPhone/iPad.

I am the author of some of that software, so I will describe my own. You can Google for others.

LoadDVD and
LoadDVD Pro - can control up to three Sony CX995V machines.
The unique codes for "1", "2" and "3" are built in. So you can click on a nenu / icon in DVD Profiler and the correct disc can be loaded. LoadDVD can also be programmed to control other devices, so for example, your TV or a/v receiver or Oppo switch can be switched automatically to show the correct changer, depending on the Slot, Collection number or anything else that can be scripted.

a/v DashBoard - you can make your own virtual renote controls that run on a PC, and you can easily create powerful scripts that can be run inside a/v DashBoard or inside LoadDVD and LoadDVD Pro. I use this system to control all my a/v equipment, turn lights on/off, control my projection screen and projector.

One point about the Sony BDP-CX960: Unfortunately, it is NOT POSSIBLE to set the disc# remotely on the this device. I hope that someday Sony will fix this. So, my software, the Sony Remote, and all other similar products are relegated to sliding the crossbar up and down instead of being able to select a specific disc. Of course the higher end model has IR, IP and RS232 control, and should be compatible with my software (I will test someday when I can afford to buy one).
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Mediadogg - I have been looking at your LoadDVD plugin. It very well may end up being how i control my set when I get it all done.

I am just looking into how it all works, found the Manuals for the the 995 and 960 and i'll be printing out the sections I hope will explain these things better.

That is kind of a bummer about the 3 unit limits as by the time I get this all together I will be over 1200 disks.

Also Ill be looking into the Oppo switch you mentioned as well.

Thanks for the great info

-Robert
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,882
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:
That is kind of a bummer about the 3 unit limits as by the time I get this all together I will be over 1200 disks.

You are welcome. By the way, there is not really a limit if you can either:

- Use some other model to store discs (I support several models of Sony, but LoadDVD can now be programmed to handle any brand)
- Rip some media to hard drives (LoadDVD will handle that too)
- Physically arrange your machines so as to allow reuse of codes. The USBUIRT has two outputs that usually run in parallel, but they can be split and driven separately for the two different changer locations. My programs don't handle that yet - nobody has requested it. 

Actually the changers can even be close together if you use the "mouse emitters" = little IR buds that stick onto the front of equipment IR window.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Welp  just scored the first CX995v for this project.

Next up is the 56" HD TV I need to pick up from a buddies :/

This should be interesting....

-R
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Just got the 995 in, loaded upa few test dvd's

Just wondering if it is normal for there to be a bit of clicking/thunking like noise from the unit as it loading disks ?

-R
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantb00bie
Registered: 12/16/2001
Registered: April 17, 2007
United States Posts: 187
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Yes 
Tom

IOS Ver. 2.1.4
iPad Mini Retina 64GB Wi-Fi iOS 8.1.1 no JB
iPad Air 64GB Wi-Fi iOS 8.1.1 TaiG 1.1 JB
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Welp got #2....

There was some very suspect bidding on that one :/

-R
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ok, maybe I am a little "special" but is there a way using the remote to just key in a disk to play ?

This using the dial and or disk up and down is tedious with just 200 disks in the player, 400 would be full of suck.

-R
    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next