Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler Android: Android Beta Page: 1 2 3  Previous   Next
Unable to sync with Online DB Galaxy Tab S 10.5 with KITKAT 4.4.2
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting ladyck3:
Quote:
this truly is NOT the solution.... not even a little bit.

please help me to troubleshoot the actual issue at hand.


Thing is, I didn't ask the question to point you to a solution, but to see if the app as such is working as expected. Obviously it isn't, but I don't think that the problem is located within the app.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 415
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting pauls42:
Quote:
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
Quoting ladyck3:
Quote:
i followed the instructions but am unable to get the sync to the pc to work


Thank you.


Hi.
I've been following your battle.  I was confused about you mentioning an IP address on you PC and on your laptop. I thought the the issue was with a tablet.


I think what he is saying is that he is running dvd profiler on a laptop.

The application on the laptop is saying IP 192.168.1.2
The laptop itself is saying IP 192.168.1.10

And this is definitely wrong. They should be the same..


I'm not sure about that. It does NOT happen that way on my desktop PC. My desktop IP is X. The IP in the program is Y.
If I use Y, it works fine for the sync.
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbbbbb
on steroids
Registered: March 14, 2007
Posts: 5,530
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Fingerlakes Dave:
Quote:
My desktop IP is X. The IP in the program is Y.

??
Don't confuse while the film is playing with when the film is played. [Ken Cole, DVD Profiler Architect]
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
i am still here life is happening will report back  in the near future.
 Last edited: by ladyck3
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hi, sorry to still be here being a pain in the butt, but I'm not able to connect my tab to my PC either.
Is there something that I need to change on the PC.. well Laptop itself ... It will not connect says I should check help but I followed the online help file you have for connecting.  The IP Address on Laptop and in the app now show to be the same.... and I used the default port.  I chose a simple password for testing but it just churns and then says it cannot connect.

I have the USB driver installed on my laptop but this is not a usb connection.  I am hardwired to my network router...should I also turn the Wi-Fi on... on my laptop ... and subsequently disconnect the hardwire?  I seriously need help here.

Also I'd rather just sync online but when I do the test and save, and enter my password... it says successfully connected but when I try to sync with my Galaxy Tab S 10.5 it asks for the password again and then fails and the app locks up.  I have to end task on it and start all over.  I'm in a total cluster* here and a catch 22 of magnum proportions.

I eagerly await HELP.

Be mindful I am also at a 4 month time frame trying to get a connection established...
The app works as it should on my Samsung Note 3 and its flawless....

HELP..... ME!!!  PLEASE!!!
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Verbatim:

Checking settings and connecting....

Then a red message:
Unable to connect.  Please verify the settings and try again, or tap Help for more information.

There you have it ... when I attempt to connect to my laptop, this is what happens.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 415
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting ladyck3:
Quote:
Verbatim:

Checking settings and connecting....

Then a red message:
Unable to connect.  Please verify the settings and try again, or tap Help for more information.

There you have it ... when I attempt to connect to my laptop, this is what happens.


Have you made sure DVD Profiler desktop is not being blocked by 1) any firewall 2) any antivirus.
Most antivirus programs and firewalls also have limits for directions, in or out or both.
I say any as Windows has its own security built in. It could be on if you have not turned it off.

Simple question - is the WiFi turned on inside your tablet? And is it connected to the network?

Keep trying!
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
That was part of my question at this point...
I am directly connected to the router on the laptop.  But for my tab to connect I should also have the WiFi turned on so the Tab can connect... right?  I'm thinking this may be a conflict...

And why can't anyone answer the original problem.  Why won't my tab connect just like any of my other devices?  WHY? 

Instead I'm being asked to jump through hoops to do something that may be a work around but is NOT NOT NOT the function I am really trying to accomplish.

You see... I've been a technical support person for half my working life... now retired & trust me! you don't use it you DO lose it.  I honestly do not want to jump through hoops & I'm desperately trying to work through my Tab & cease use of my laptop.  Jumping thru these hoops is a lot of putzing around  with no resolution.

I appreciate all the attempts to help & will continue but maybe it's not compatible?  Except that makes NO SENSE.

I' running KitKat 4.4.2 on both Note 3 & Tab S    Note 3 was easy peas so why not the tab?

Test & Save login is successful EVERY TIME but next step that requires logging in fails EVERY TIME.  And I do not use numbers or caps in my password and I DO NOT GET IT.... FOUR MONTHS NOW!

Will work on it again probably Saturday.

I was in regular support forum & they washed their hands of me & sent me to this beta forum.
On the tab I am running Version 1.1.4  Build 46    my Windows 7 Ultimate laptop is running the most current version as well.

Windows protection is on & I am using ESET Virus Protection on the laptop.    sigh

later
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 415
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting ladyck3:
Quote:
That was part of my question at this point...
I am directly connected to the router on the laptop.  But for my tab to connect I should also have the WiFi turned on so the Tab can connect... right?  I'm thinking this may be a conflict...

That's not a conflict, that's how it should work. One hardwire to a wifi router (the router does have antennas, right?), and the mobile version connecta to the program OTA and updates.

Quote:
And why can't anyone answer the original problem.  Why won't my tab connect just like any of my other devices?  WHY? 

It should. However, not all tablets meet the same spec. That's  the splintering of Android you hear about. It's not just the OS, it's the hardware also.
Quote:

Instead I'm being asked to jump through hoops to do something that may be a work around but is NOT NOT NOT the function I am really trying to accomplish.

  You should go back and read your posts. Then thank anyone who posts here trying to help you. 'Nuf said.
Quote:

You see... I've been a technical support person for half my working life... now retired & trust me! you don't use it you DO lose it.  I honestly do not want to jump through hoops & I'm desperately trying to work through my Tab & cease use of my laptop.  Jumping thru these hoops is a lot of putzing around  with no resolution.

I appreciate all the attempts to help & will continue but maybe it's not compatible?  Except that makes NO SENSE.

I' running KitKat 4.4.2 on both Note 3 & Tab S    Note 3 was easy peas so why not the tab?

Just pause for a second: the software WORKS on the Note 3, *NO* issues. The software *DOES NOT* work on the TabS. MAYBE, and only maybe, it's not the software, stranger things have happened. Have you contacted the tablet manufacturer?
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
1.  I did state that I do appreciate everyone's help....you even quoted that back to me.  I meant it when I "said" it.  I also apologize for ranting as it were... In so frustrated by this and should not have sounded so shrewish.  Sorry.

2.  Samsung is the tablet mfg. but they do not support the use of 3rd party apps so what do I contact them about?

3.  There was an OTA update 2 days ago but I don't know what the update was for... fixes but for what.  Maybe this is some of that fracturing you mentioned.  (shrug).  since then I did uninstall & reinstall & tried again.  No change.

Thank you again...  yawn... night
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
BTW the tablet is Samsung Tab S 10.5  SM-T800 WiFi only.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Here is where I stand.
I disabled my firewall, I have no clue what I might need to do to compromise my system in order to connect from my Tablet.

I appreciate the help but using the PC/laptop as an option just is not an option...

Can we please concentrate on syncing with the web only. 
Can someone please explain when I put in the user name and password on the "TEST AND SAVE" screen I get a message telling me the sign in was successful.  I then go to Update the database, thinking it will ask me if I want to upload from the Tab or download from Online... I do not get to that point.  I'm asked for the login again... I use the very same as I did for TEST AND SAVE and it fails.  This is the issue.

I do not have predictive text turned on, no caps, no numbers, no punctuation just lowercase letters.

WHY is this doing this?  How can we fix THAT?  That IS the problem.  I can copy the folder from my Note 3 to my Tab S and open the database all day long but I am not able to sync with the online database when is the function I need.

Please let's just address this and forget compromise integrating the laptop, that's a non starter as I am working on going PC free.  Its not working and I just do not want to invest the time to connect something that I do not plan on using.

I appreciate the assistance or some sort of definitive answer as to what in the heck is going on.... This been an issue since Early July when I got the Tab.  4 months.

Most Sincerely..

Laurie / ladyck3
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Since you seem to be the only one with this specific problem I'd suggest to contact some local help.

Forums can only be of very limited help, since we can not see what is actually happening on your device, or in how far the actions and/or settings of your Note3 differ from your other devices.

And once more:
The suggestion to get your device connected to your Laptop was for diagnosis only on not ment to be a permanent workaround.
Anyhow, since even this did not work, I fear that the problem is located
a) in the device (defective Hard- and/or Software)
b) in front of the device (more likely)
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
 Last edited: by Lewis_Prothero
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantFingerlakes Dave
Registered: April 6, 2007
United States Posts: 415
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting ladyck3:
Quote:
Here is where I stand.
I
I appreciate the help but using the PC/laptop as an option just is not an option...

Can we please concentrate on syncing with the web only. 

Laurie / ladyck3


Hi again. I won't address using the web to sync your database. I only ever used it as a backup before I started using Dropbox for my backups.

I am not sure you can use the web the way you think you can. (I could very well be incorrect.)
To the best of my limited knowledge, the web only gets updated when done from inside the min program.
I don't think it can be done from within the app. Adding new discs is not the smoothest experience using the mobile app. That is why most of us use the PC program, and update the mobile from there.
It isn't that you can't add new items via the mobile program. I just haven't heard of anyone then syncing with the web vs. a desktop/laptop.
Maybe someone could share here? 

It's probably one small setting. That's usually what I find them to be when this stuff happens to me. 
  Keep smiling. Getting upset never solved anything, regardless of hod "good" it felt! 
HTC Droid Incredible 2, not rooted, Gingerbread 2.3.5, 768 or 1gig internal (?), 32 gig SD card
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantladyck3
Registered: February 21, 2008
Posts: 26
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I am back.  I apologize in advance....

Not to re-hash but just to get all of the ducks in one post.
I have a laptop with Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit.

  1.  I enter new DVDs into the laptop (PC) and sync with my online profile.

  2.  Once the online data is updated, I sync my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 with the online information to keep this device up to date.... when I'm shopping and Hubby says... do we have, I can quickly look it up... we have over 2000 DVD/BluRays  I sure as heck can't remember them all.  THIS WORKS FLAWLESSLY

  3.  NOW I am trying to also sync my Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5 with the online data so it too is updated when discs are added.  I CANNOT GET A CONNECTION TO THE ONLINE DATA

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

      A.  I create  a database on the Tab and name it as my database is named and set it up to sync online, I then am prompted to enter login information and it says a successful connection has been made.

      B.  I select to update the database and am immediately prompted for the login information again and it has been saved from the test login, so nothing has changed ... it shows the window that a connection is being made, the screen changes from landscape to portrait with the login screen still visible.  It does not connect.

===========================
It was suggested that I try syncing with the PC instead, yeahsureright.... well I need help there with a bit more information than the help shows.  How do I do this?  The program is setup and the status information in the program shows my computer name and IP address, the Port number (default) and 0 Connections
===========================

I enabled Wi-Fi on my PC...  My Tab is a Wi-Fi only tab and is connected to our home Wi-Fi network already, same as the laptop then.  I have a hardwire for the laptop and usually do not enable Wi-Fi unless traveling, so please see my confusion below:

Connect to PC .... Via USB???  Via Wi-Fi????
I entered the IP address and it tells me it cannot connect, so I then entered my PC name and get the same error.    In my Intel Wi-Fi software it shows my computer name as  Laurie-MSI-40490  Hmm is the 40490 the port?  Should I change this?  Nope...

UNABLE TO CONNECT PLEASE VERIFY SETTINGS..... same as always


So... do I connect via my USB cable to my PC?  If so, then what do I do to connect the Tab version of the software with the database on my PC.

I know what it is SUPPOSED to do and how it is SUPPOSED to look when connecting online because I have done this with all of my past devices .... but it does not work with the Tab S  and I have absolutely NO IDEA how to connect to the PC... not with the Phone or the Tablet because I have no clue what I am doing or what I should be doing.

Please please please help... what a Christmas Gift this would be... as I have now been trying to get this to work just 4 days shy of 5 months now.

Thank you all in advance... all.

If I have confused anyone with this post but you think you might be able to help please read the previous posts.

Does anyone else out there have a Tab S and does it work for you???

Laurie
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantarnymateo
Registered: February 27, 2012
Posts: 14
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have a Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5 and I am able to sync my content with my PC. I do it that way since the online database has some different covers since I have some custom covers on my own database. But any way it was not working at first when I put in my IP address displayed at the bottom on DVD Profiler on my PC. But in command prompt I got my ipconfig and entered my IPv4 Address and it worked.

Note: prior to this I set up in DVD Profiler to share my database  under options.

Everything took less than 10 mins. Hope this helps.
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler Android: Android Beta Page: 1 2 3  Previous   Next