Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next
WiFi to IR
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDavidEC
Wii#0441-6820-0158-3757
Registered: March 16, 2007
United States Posts: 142
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Does anybody have any suggestions of a "BOX" which will allow the conversion of WiFi from handheld devices such as an Android device to be converted to "IR" to replace hard button remotes?
Growing older is mandatory...Growing up is optional...
"Time spent with cats is never wasted." - Sigmund Freud
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,822
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Take a look at Global Cache. Pricey though.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDavidEC
Wii#0441-6820-0158-3757
Registered: March 16, 2007
United States Posts: 142
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:
Take a look at Global Cache. Pricey though.


I have seen their product(s) but question the user interface (aka: Android or iOS App(s)), as I can not find which I would need and which will work the best to replace a ageing Harmony remote(s).
Growing older is mandatory...Growing up is optional...
"Time spent with cats is never wasted." - Sigmund Freud
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
IMHO the best way to replace a "Harmony" is by getting a newer one and copy the settings of the older.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorParsec
Registered: June 15, 2012
Australia Posts: 420
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Harmony have the Ultimate/Smart Control coming out soon that use harmony link which is:

"It receives commands from remotes via RF, or from smartphone apps via WiFi, and in turn, broadcasts its own orders to your A/V setup using IR and Bluetooth."
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantRobAGD
Registered: June 3, 2007
United States Posts: 706
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
the Global Cache iTack Wifi2IR I have one and it works well it is about $100

I use it with the Touchsquid Remote software on my Asus Tablet to run my Home theater system.

Mediadogg also added iTach controls to his Load DVD Pro.

The nice thing with the iTach, if you can use an IR Blaster in port 3 and if you need to run IR buds to devices that are hidden from the blaster or as I have in my set up a very picky device on how the IR is pointed at it.

I run 5 of the Sony 995's and I use a 3 bud from 1 port to drive #4 and #5 so I dont have 2 players reacting to the IR Blaster ( Leaving 1 bud to run #6 when I pick it up )

Take a look the Touchsquid software works very nice, and is very customizable once you learn it.

-R
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,822
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting RobAGD:
Quote:
Mediadogg also added iTach controls to his Load DVD Pro.

Thanks for mentioning that. In the upcoming release, I will be improving that, along the lines of your original suggestions. I just didn't have time to complete it yet. What I have today allows you to call the GC external program. I would like to add embedded support directly in LoadDVD Pro.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1  Previous   Next