Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler iOS: iOS Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
IOS 7.1.1 can't connect to Dvd Profiler
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDevoir
Registered: August 7, 2012
Posts: 10
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'm running DVD profiler 3.8.2 on my PC and recently my Ipad IOS 7.1.1 will not connect to update my database.  Any thought on what I might try?
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantnuoyaxin
prev. known as ya_shin
Registered: March 13, 2007
Taiwan, Province of China Posts: 3,400
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Probably not much of a help, but occasionally I will be unable to connect, only to realize that the IP address has changed... Unfortunately only idea I have so far.
Achim [Ya-Shin//Nuo]
Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative)
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDevoir
Registered: August 7, 2012
Posts: 10
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have tried both the name of the server/PC and the IP address neither of these work. I am sure I am on the same LAN because I can see the device listed in the router device list of connected devices.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Make sure that the firewall allows incoming connections to DVDProfiler PC.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantMole
Ex-contributor
Registered: March 13, 2007
United Kingdom Posts: 755
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Have you confirmed that the IP address & port displayed on the iPad App (in the Update Database section) are the same as those shown at the bottom of the PC program's main Window? If not, edit the IPad's setting to match those of the PC.
Chris
 Last edited: by Mole
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDevoir
Registered: August 7, 2012
Posts: 10
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I edited the firewall to ensure the incoming connections were allowed. did not fix the issue

I made sure the firewall was turned off on the PC.

I have confirmed the IP and port address in the bottom of the PC program window matches the iPAD


I still can't connect
Invelos Software, Inc. RepresentativeKen Cole
Invelos Software
Registered: March 10, 2007
United States Posts: 4,281
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
From your iPad, open safari and enter the host name or IP followed by a colon and the port.  For example:

192.168.1.20:32847

What is the result?
Invelos Software, Inc. Representative
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDevoir
Registered: August 7, 2012
Posts: 10
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ken many thanks for the suggestion  I tried as you suggested

192.168.199.400:32487

No luck "Unable to connect"

I also turned the Firewall settings to off tested again. no luck


I know I am able to connect to the PC .... I was just connected using HD Splash to connect and watch a Webex training class.


PS sorry for the delay in response got distracted building my theater room.... it's nearly complete
Invelos Software, Inc. RepresentativeKen Cole
Invelos Software
Registered: March 10, 2007
United States Posts: 4,281
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
That's not a valid IP address, so please check your entries.
Invelos Software, Inc. Representative
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDevoir
Registered: August 7, 2012
Posts: 10
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ken your correct I mis-typed the IP 

In the bottom of the DVD profiler window the following was the IP

192.168.199.150:32487

No Luck still can't connect...
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorTheMadMartian
Alien with an attitude
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 13,179
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I could be wrong, but I don't think I have ever seen a colon in an IP address.  Try using just 192.168.199.150
No dictator, no invader can hold an imprisoned population by force of arms forever.
There is no greater power in the universe than the need for freedom.
Against this power, governments and tyrants and armies cannot stand.
The Centauri learned this lesson once.
We will teach it to them again.
Though it take a thousand years, we will be free.
- Citizen G'Kar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Some routers prevent communication of devices if connected by different media (Ethernet / WiFi).

Make sure your router allows communication.
If it does, make sure that it doesn't apply different NAT-areas (subnets) for different connection-types.
(Check the list of connected devices and make sure the IP of your iPad is 192.168.199.xxx)
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting TheMadMartian:
Quote:
I could be wrong, but I don't think I have ever seen a colon in an IP address.  Try using just 192.168.199.150


The colon + following number is a valid part of the address.
It specifies the port on which the contact has to be established.
Problems may arise though, if a custom-port was named in DVDProfiler (PC).
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
 Last edited: by Lewis_Prothero
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantMark Harrison
I like IMDB
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 3,321
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
And of course the main problem is the 192.168.199.400:32487.

The part in bold can't be higher than 255.  400 isn't a valid value for an IP address.
Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here.
Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDevoir
Registered: August 7, 2012
Posts: 10
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
please see my response I MADE A MISTAKE TYPING...... THERE IS NO IP ABOVE 255........

192.168.199.105:32487


but it doesn't matter to me I EVEN TYPED THE PC name Z400    no luck


the real question for me is if I purchase the dvd loadpro can i get it to control my 6 dvd sony dvd carousels to pick the specific disc locations
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Devoir:
Quote:
192.168.199.105:32487


Understood,
but what is the IP of your iPad?
and
Does your router allow communication for different connection types?
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler iOS: iOS Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next