Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
Windows 10 problem.
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I just upgraded my computer to a Windows 10 computer and I have too many errors with this program. However, I am not sure that this is the problem either. My database has a size of 4.5 GB. Which of the two cases can be my problem? And how can I solve it?

Thank you.

José Ángel
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 3,294
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hi José,

Most users probably use Windows 10, so it's not Windows 10 by itself that is the problem. There are also users with very large databases, and I haven't heard any of them having problems. So I don't think there is an easy answer to your problem.

Three questions to start with:
1. Can you describe the problems in a bit more detail. When do they occur? What error messages do you get?
2. Did you try to do a database repair?
3. Do you have a backup of your database (the kind that you create with File / Backup Databas in DVD Profiler's menu)?
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Hello Gsyren and thank you very much for answering.
1. Here I attach the errors that come to me.
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AvJ1dc1L1nHlgz1UZrEOL0cWmdub
2. I have to repair the database practically every time I open the program.
3. Previously I have done databases backup many times and had not had any problems.

When I updated to Windows 10 I did the process that I have done other times when changing computers, for example, that is: I install the program, I enter the data of the registry and I open the backup that I did before in the old computer ...
I bought the program I think it was in 2002. A long time ago.

And the worst thing is that now it does not allow me to work with it.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I think my problem is the same that:

http://invelos.com/Forums.aspx?task=viewtopic&topicID=943274&PageNum=3
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I think my problem is the same that:

"http://invelos.com/Forums.aspx?task=viewtopic&topicID=943274&PageNum=3"
 Last edited: by pepean
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
 Last edited: by pepean
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I don't know how upload image 
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 3,294
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
So, have you tried the suggestions given in that thread?
Missing or damaged Tahoma font is the most common cause of the Invalid Floating Point error.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have uninstalled the tahoma font and reinstalled it and the problem persists.


I do not know what to do. I'm desperate.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 3,294
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I read somewhere that this could have something to do with the decimal separator.

So go into the Windows sertting and change from decimal point to decimal comma (or vice versa, depending on what you have now). Test and see if the problem goes away. Then switch back and see if the problem still exists.

It's a long shot, but it's worth trying.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorrdodolak
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 1,261
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting pepean:
Quote:
When I updated to Windows 10 I did the process that I have done other times when changing computers, for example, that is: I install the program, I enter the data of the registry and I open the backup that I did before in the old computer ...


Are you saying you edited the Windows registry?  If so, it's possible something negative happened when it was edited.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting GSyren:
Quote:
I read somewhere that this could have something to do with the decimal separator.

So go into the Windows sertting and change from decimal point to decimal comma (or vice versa, depending on what you have now). Test and see if the problem goes away. Then switch back and see if the problem still exists.

It's a long shot, but it's worth trying.


I do it. I change it. But the problem persist.


Thank you for your try to help me...
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting rdodolak:
Quote:
Quoting pepean:
Quote:
When I updated to Windows 10 I did the process that I have done other times when changing computers, for example, that is: I install the program, I enter the data of the registry and I open the backup that I did before in the old computer ...


Are you saying you edited the Windows registry?  If so, it's possible something negative happened when it was edited.


No.
Registry of the program (my data registred). No edited Windows registry.
Thanks for answering.
 Last edited: by pepean
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantpepean
Registered: April 14, 2007
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'm waiting.
I hope that the new update will come soon. Let's see if that solves my problem.

Does anyone know if it will be out soon?

 Last edited: by pepean
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorGSyren
Profiling since 2001
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
Sweden Posts: 3,294
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
It's unlikely that you'll see an update to the program any time soon, I'm afraid.
Did you try everything mentioned in the other thread? If so, then I'm out of ideas, I'm sorry to say.

There is, of course, the really brutal test.
Re-install Windows 10.
Re-install DVD Profiler.
Test Profiler with a single profile.
If ok, restore database.
Re-install everything else that you use.

That's a lot of work, and of course you need to make sure that you also have backups of all other data that you need. And there is still no guarantee that it will fix the problem. Installing Profiler in a ”virgin” Windows environment might make a difference.

It all comes down to how desperate you are. And how much other stuff you have installed. As a hobby developer I have lots of stuff installed, and it takes me days to re-install everything and set it up the way I want it. Hopefully you don't have quite as much.
My freeware tools for DVD Profiler users.
Gunnar
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 2,074
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
In the past, I have had to rebuild the database several times in a row and when I finally received no more errors, the problem was solved. I don't know whether this could be the issue, but it's definitely a much easier and less intrusive way to see if it helps. Also, are you running the latest version of DVDP?
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
 Last edited: by mreeder50
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next