Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Layouts and Reports Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Previous   Next
New HTML Section: Printing Dymo Labels
Author Message
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,735
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting EdwinK:
Quote:
No one who knows what I've been doing wrong here?

Tomorrow I will try it again.

One problem:
if DP_RUNTIME != "") DymoLabel.SetField("runtime", DP_RUNTIME)

should be:

if (DP_RunTime != "") DymoLabel.SetField("runtime", DP_RunTime)

I just saw this today, but it is 2AM and I was about to go to bed. I didn't really check your program completely. But I did see a couple of big mistakes (missing "(" and incorrect case for the DP variable).

Here is an example of another big one - you have several like this:

if (DP_Discs != "") DymoLabel.SetField("slot",DP_Discs[0].slot)

Should be:

if (DP_Discs[0].slot != "") DymoLabel.SetField("slot",DP_Discs[0].slot)
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
2 am... you should be in bed.

Okay. I'll try and look into it in a few hours. Thanks for your pointers.

Now, off to bed with you
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I thought I fixed it all now, but it looks like I still manage to get it broken , and now I've changed so much (yeah i know backups ) that I don't even know where to start again.
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,735
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting EdwinK:
Quote:
I thought I fixed it all now, but it looks like I still manage to get it broken , and now I've changed so much (yeah i know backups ) that I don't even know where to start again.

Send it to me by PM. When we get it working, you can post the final result here in case it helps somebody else.

BTW you can always get the original back from copy / paste from this thread, right?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Yes, I could, and I did.

(sorry, was away for the weekend, helping parents with their computers)
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
This is what I now created, thanks to Mediadogg, who found the errors that prevented it from working properly.



and this is the html for the layout:

Quote:

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
<DP NAME="HEADER_VARS" Language="JavaScript" Comments="True" IncludeCast="False" IncludeCrew="False">
//-->
</SCRIPT>
  <body>
    <h1>DVD Locatie en slot</h1>
Print een label met o.a. de vindplaats van de DVD
    <form>
    <form>
      <INPUT TYPE="BUTTON" NAME="PrintBtn" VALUE="Print Label" OnClick="PrintBtnClicked()">
    </form>
    <SCRIPT Language="JavaScript">
      function PrintBtnClicked()
      {
        var DymoAddIn, DymoLabel;
        var ret, upc;
        var dot = -1;
        DymoAddIn = new ActiveXObject('DYMO.DymoAddIn');
        dot = DP_UPC.indexOf(".");
      if (dot > 0)
      {
          upc = DP_UPC.substring(0,dot-1);
        }
        else
        {
            upc = DP_UPC;
        }
        DymoLabel = new ActiveXObject('DYMO.DymoLabels');
        ret = "false";
        if (upc.length == 12)
        {
            ret = DymoAddIn.Open('D:\\DYMO_Label\\Label_Files\\locatie.LWL');
        }
        else
        {
            ret = DymoAddIn.Open('D:\\DYMO_Label\\Label_Files\\locatie.LWL');
          }
        if (ret)
      if (ret)
        {
if (DP_Title != "") DymoLabel.SetField("title", DP_Title)
if (DP_Discs[0].slot != "") DymoLabel.SetField("slot",DP_Discs[0].slot)
if (DP_Discs[0].location != "") DymoLabel.SetField("loc",DP_Discs[0].location)
if (DP_CollectionNumber != "") DymoLabel.SetField("collection", DP_CollectionNumber)
if (DP_Rating != "") DymoLabel.SetField("rating", DP_Rating)
if (DP_UPC != "") DymoLabel.SetField("UPC", upc)
if (DP_Genres[0] != "") DymoLabel.SetField("genre1", DP_Genres[0])
if (DP_Genres[1] != "") DymoLabel.SetField("genre2", DP_Genres[1])
if (DP_Genres[2] != "") DymoLabel.SetField("genre3", DP_Genres[2])
if (DP_PurchasePrice != "") DymoLabel.SetField("price", DP_PurchasePrice)
if (DP_RunTime != "") DymoLabel.SetField("runtime", DP_RunTime)     
            DymoAddIn.Show();
      }
}
    </SCRIPT>
    </body>
</html>

Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDutchDude
Registered: October 4, 2009
United States Posts: 3
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks to everybody who contributed earlier - I got about 90% of the way there. But, now I need help with two problems that I can not find the answer to.

As you can see in the picture of my label, I have extra commas in the genre. I found a way to either print one of the genres (0, 1, 2, etc) or all of them, but then I get the commas for empty fields?

Problem two is that I can't get the overview to wrap. This is probably a setting in the label software, but I can't seem to find it.

Anyway, just seeing if you guys can point me in the right direction, and otherwise hopefully somebody will find this code example useful.



And here is the html:

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
<DP NAME="HEADER_VARS" Language="JavaScript" Comments="True" IncludeCast="False" IncludeCrew="False">
//-->
</SCRIPT>
  <body>
    <h1>Dymo Label Printing</h1>
    <DP NAME="TITLE">  <DP NAME="COLLNUM">
    <form>
      <INPUT TYPE="BUTTON" NAME="PrintBtn" VALUE="Print Label" OnClick="PrintBtnClicked()">
    </form>
    <SCRIPT Language="JavaScript">
      function PrintBtnClicked()
      {
        var DymoAddIn, DymoLabel;
        DymoAddIn = new ActiveXObject('DYMO.DymoAddIn');
        DymoLabel = new ActiveXObject('DYMO.DymoLabels');
        ret = DymoAddIn.Open('C:\\Documents and Settings\\All Users\\Documents\\DYMO Label\\Label Files\\DVD_Label.LWL');
        if (ret)
        {
            if (DP_Title != "") DymoLabel.SetField("title", DP_Title)
            if (DP_ProductionYear != "") DymoLabel.SetField("year", DP_ProductionYear)
            if (DP_RunTime != "") DymoLabel.SetField("runtime", DP_RunTime)
            if (DP_Genres != "") DymoLabel.SetField("genre", DP_Genres)
            if (DP_Rating != "") DymoLabel.SetField("rating", DP_Rating)
            if (DP_Overview != "") DymoLabel.SetField("overview", DP_Overview)
            if (DP_CollectionNumber != "") DymoLabel.SetField("collection",DP_CollectionNumber)
            DymoAddIn.Show();
        }
      else
          alert('Error: Label file Not Found!');
      }
    </SCRIPT>
    </body>
</html>


Thanks in advance!

Arjen.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,735
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
I think my prior post was bogus. What version of Profiler are you using? I couldn't reproduce the problem. The list of genres came out perfectly because Profiler took care of the gaps. I have saved the contents of that old post, just in case, but I'm confused as to how you got that result ...
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantDutchDude
Registered: October 4, 2009
United States Posts: 3
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
The version of Profiler is: 3.5.1 build 1252

The version of Dymo is: 7.7.0.8 (version 8 doesn't work at all, it uses xml templates for label files)

Arjen.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,735
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting DutchDude:
Quote:
The version of Profiler is: 3.5.1 build 1252

The version of Dymo is: 7.7.0.8 (version 8 doesn't work at all, it uses xml templates for label files)

Arjen.

Sorry I totally missed this post. Just happened to stumble across it today. I will take a look at this during the 3.6 upgrade process. Sorry for the delay in responding.

Here is a document I found by Dymo explaining the compatibility issues between Version 7.8 and 8.1, and how to get some functionality in the interim while they finalize the 8.1 SDK. When that becomes final, I can devleop and publish a new script - but then, anybody can do that - no need to wait for me, if anybody wants to contribute that effort. I wrote no code for this, other than the HTML script, following the Dymo documentation.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:

Quote:
anybody can do that - no need to wait for me, if anybody wants to contribute that effort. I wrote no code for this, other than the HTML script, following the Dymo documentation.


I can't. So, I just go to sit in that corner over there, and wait
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,735
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting EdwinK:
Quote:
Quoting mediadogg:

Quote:
anybody can do that - no need to wait for me, if anybody wants to contribute that effort. I wrote no code for this, other than the HTML script, following the Dymo documentation.


I can't. So, I just go to sit in that corner over there, and wait

Oh oh, presssure mounts when a VIP wants it ... 
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
No pressure from me. I'm happy with how it is now.  Who knows, maybe some day I can make something. Just not holding my breath till I do
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Dear Mediadogg,

Whenever you have time, could you help me with something regarding this. Dymo made an upgrade to their printing software, so installed that, but when I want to print one of the labels in DVDpro, it still wants to use the older version. I don't know if that is because of something in the html files or something else.
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,735
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting EdwinK:
Quote:
Dear Mediadogg,

Whenever you have time, could you help me with something regarding this. Dymo made an upgrade to their printing software, so installed that, but when I want to print one of the labels in DVDpro, it still wants to use the older version. I don't know if that is because of something in the html files or something else.

I'm just seeing this post. I'm thinking that maybe there is a new toolkit for the new version. I'll take a look.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantEdwinK
Registered: May 27, 2007
Netherlands Posts: 686
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Almost forgot about this post when I noticed your reply.  I know you are busy, so no rush for me.
Unfortunately, I can't use DVDprofiler at the moment due to lack of a Windows computer.
 Last edited: by EdwinK
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Layouts and Reports Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Previous   Next