Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Previous   Next
So how do you view your discs
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorSrehtims
Registered: March 13, 2007
United States Posts: 1,796
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
With great care, my x-ray vision might scratch them.
We don't need stinkin' IMDB's errors, we make our own.
Ineptocracy, You got to love it.
"Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power." - Abraham Lincoln
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorPantheon
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United Kingdom Posts: 1,819
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
With my eyes.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorPantheon
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United Kingdom Posts: 1,819
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
 

Seriously though.

50" Samsung plasma (don't know specs as I'm not into the techie side of it).

Recently bought a Yamaha YSP-2200 Sound Projector (didn't want all the wires from speakers).

We have a 3D blu-ray player (came with the TV package) and a separate DVD player that's multi-region.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantapturbo
Registered: March 9, 2010
Posts: 45
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Mediadogg made me aware of this topic and suggested I should show folks how we're using dvdp... so without further adieu, check this out or for a more detailed setup click here.
 Last edited: by apturbo
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,833
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have a NAS using UNRAID with a mix of ten 1.5TB to 3TB drives for a total of 17.5TB of storage. All DVD & Blu-Ray TV series and movies are stored on the NAS in MKV format. The HTPC in the living room, Mac Server in my bedroom, and my son's PC are connected to the NAS via Samba (Windows Networking) using XBMC. I have XBMC configured to use a shared MySQL database which allows me to move from room to room and be able to continue where I left off.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantapturbo
Registered: March 9, 2010
Posts: 45
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Dr. Killpatient:
Quote:
I have a NAS using UNRAID with a mix of ten 1.5TB to 3TB drives for a total of 17.5TB of storage. All DVD & Blu-Ray TV series and movies are stored on the NAS in MKV format. The HTPC in the living room, Mac Server in my bedroom, and my son's PC are connected to the NAS via Samba (Windows Networking) using XBMC. I have XBMC configured to use a shared MySQL database which allows me to move from room to room and be able to continue where I left off.


Just out of curiousity, what media player are you using to play blu-rays?  I'm assuming you are calling a program outside of xbmc since last time i checked it did not support playing blu-ray from within itself.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,833
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I have all my Blu-Ray media ripped to MKV format, lossless. XBMC doesn't have any issues playing it.

You're correct that XMBC won't recognize blu-ray discs, I use my PS/3 if I need to view a disc.

I haven't tried a blu-ray disc with XMBC Frodo (beta) yet.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorDoubleDownAgain
I see better with 'em on
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
Canada Posts: 1,272
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Dr. Killpatient:
Quote:
I have all my Blu-Ray media ripped to MKV format, lossless. XBMC doesn't have any issues playing it.

You're correct that XMBC won't recognize blu-ray discs, I use my PS/3 if I need to view a disc.

I haven't tried a blu-ray disc with XMBC Frodo (beta) yet.


Do you just have the movies?  Or Bonus features as well?  How does it compare to the playing the blu-ray itself?
HDTV: 52" Toshiba Regza 52XV545U  AVR: Onkyo TR-707
Speakers: Paradigm Monitor 7 v6, CC-190 & Atom Monitors  Subwoofer: Definitive Technology ProSub 800
BD/DVD: Oppo BDP-93 (Region Free)  HD PVR: Motorola DXC3400 500GB w/ 1TB Expander
BD/DVD/Game: 250GB PS3 Slim DVD/Game: 250GB XBox 360 Elite Special Edition (Black) Game: Wii
Remote: Logitech Harmony One w/ PS3 Adapter WHS: Acer H341 Windows Home Server
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorParsec
Registered: June 15, 2012
Australia Posts: 418
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting apturbo:
Quote:
mediadogg made me aware of this topic and suggested I should show folks how we're using dvdp... so without further adieu, check this out or for a more detailed setup click here.


that's impressive.....
 Last edited: by Parsec
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorParsec
Registered: June 15, 2012
Australia Posts: 418
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Dr. Killpatient:
Quote:
I have all my Blu-Ray media ripped to MKV format, lossless. XBMC doesn't have any issues playing it.

You're correct that XMBC won't recognize blu-ray discs, I use my PS/3 if I need to view a disc.

I haven't tried a blu-ray disc with XMBC Frodo (beta) yet.


What do you use to rip your blu-rays?
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantapturbo
Registered: March 9, 2010
Posts: 45
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Dr. Killpatient:
Quote:
I have all my Blu-Ray media ripped to MKV format, lossless. XBMC doesn't have any issues playing it.

You're correct that XMBC won't recognize blu-ray discs, I use my PS/3 if I need to view a disc.

I haven't tried a blu-ray disc with XMBC Frodo (beta) yet.


I am only familiar with creating .iso files from blu-ray which emulates an actual disk in conjunction with a virtual drive software.  Also using JRiver MC which does support blu-ray and a whole bunch of other advanced stuff like multiple zones including a vast code library making it possible to do just about anything remotely.  I'm curious to know however what quality difference there may or may not be between MKV lossless or ISO created using 100% quality with no compression?
 Last edited: by apturbo
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,833
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I use AnyDVD to extract the disc to my hard drive and then MakeMKV to extract just the feature film with English soundtrack and only English forced subtitles. Since it's a lossless transfer, the quality is just as good as watching the feature on the disc itself. I select the thumbnail in XMBC, the feature film starts playing immediately with no commercials, disclaimers, etc. If I want to see the special features, I plug in the disc. Exception: For TV series that I want to see the special features, I extract those as custom episodes.

MakeMKV recommends that you don't use AnyDVD, that it can decrypt the media itself, I just prefer to use it anyways - I trust it more.

I use ISO format only for the DVD's that the aspect ratio just doesn't translate properly for whatever reason.

I use MediaFire to build all the data files used by XMBC but I also use a Windows Script batch file I created in conjunction with a DVDProfiler plugin to update the thumbnail, overview, rating, etc. from DVDP prior to importing into the XMBC library.
 Last edited: by Dr. Killpatient
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantapturbo
Registered: March 9, 2010
Posts: 45
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Dr. K, so if I understand, you are using dvdp to easily add the data like plot, genre, etc.. then running a script to import that data for use with xbmc, correct?  so if i am correct then dvdp is really nothing more than a way to populate data for you and xbmc is your interface...? 

I also need the ability to communicate via RS232 to physical disks in changers which is why I've found the LoadDVD profiler plugin to be ideal, not sure if this could be done with xbmc or not.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorDanae Cassandra
Mad Scientist at work!
Registered: May 26, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 2,653
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'm extremely basic.  I have a DVD player hooked up with an AV cable for DVDs, and for blu-ray I have a PS3, also hooked up with an AV cable.  I have a 32" square TV.  My friend Charlie said I ought to get a new flatscreen, but not only do I not have the money for one, it's also the nicest TV I've ever owned and compared to every other TV I've ever had the picture looks great.  I have no doubt an HD would be superb, but I can't seem to justify the expense yet.

Quoting Parsec:
Quote:
or tricks with setups that help them profile discs?


I have a small portable DVD player that sits on my desk.  When I want to do cast & crew for a DVD profile I pop in the disc and bring up the credits.  This allows me to pause the credits for profiling.  The only problem comes when the credits are in a very tiny font.  I picked it up just for this purpose, which seems kind of sad actually.

I don't do cast/crew for blu-rays, as I know someone else will do those profiles.
If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.
-- Thorin Oakenshield
 Last edited: by Danae Cassandra
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantDr. Killpatient
Here's my card
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,833
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting apturbo:
Quote:
Dr. K, so if I understand, you are using dvdp to easily add the data like plot, genre, etc.. then running a script to import that data for use with xbmc, correct?  so if i am correct then dvdp is really nothing more than a way to populate data for you and xbmc is your interface...? 

I also need the ability to communicate via RS232 to physical disks in changers which is why I've found the LoadDVD profiler plugin to be ideal, not sure if this could be done with xbmc or not.


MediaFire gets it's information on movies from IMBD. I'd rather have "proper" data & thumbnails that match my disc so I wrote the export/edit script.
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantapturbo
Registered: March 9, 2010
Posts: 45
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Dr. Killpatient:
Quote:
Quoting apturbo:
Quote:
Dr. K, so if I understand, you are using dvdp to easily add the data like plot, genre, etc.. then running a script to import that data for use with xbmc, correct?  so if i am correct then dvdp is really nothing more than a way to populate data for you and xbmc is your interface...? 

I also need the ability to communicate via RS232 to physical disks in changers which is why I've found the LoadDVD profiler plugin to be ideal, not sure if this could be done with xbmc or not.


MediaFire gets it's information on movies from IMBD. I'd rather have "proper" data & thumbnails that match my disc so I wrote the export/edit script.


okay, well last question, i think.... what are you using dvdp for then?
    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Previous   Next