Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: New Users Forum Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next
Need a nudge to purchase pro version of DVD Profiler
Author Message
Ric01
Registered: June 15, 2014
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks rdodolak

you are right, 4 GB of ram, my typo... thanks

As the database grows larger in the future, is there a tipping point where the DVD Profiler file retrieval will slow down unless I upgrade the processor speed?

Thanks
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,049
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Yes, but if you can afford to buy enough DVDs to make that happen, you can afford $30, and a new computer.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKulju
Registered: March 14, 2007
Finland Posts: 2,337
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
DVDP is performace wise quite poorly designed db, but with those specs it'll work OK. SSD drive wouldn't hurt though.
Ric01
Registered: June 15, 2014
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:
Yes, but if you can afford to buy enough DVDs to make that happen, you can afford $30, and a new computer.


I plan to run the DVDP on my current Core 2 Duo Win 7 32 bit until it slows to a crawl, hence my previous question about the tipping point

Yes, down the road, I planned to buy a new 64bit computer for my new video editing software that only works with 64 bit Win7 Ultimate version but I am not sure if DVDP can run on 64bit Win 7 and 64bit processor...... I am just planning ahead regarding the timing of my various purchases :-)

Any ideas welcome :-)
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorrdodolak
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,181
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ric01:
Quote:
... but I am not sure if DVDP can run on 64bit Win 7 and 64bit processor...


DVD Profiler will run just fine on 64-bit Win 7 and a 64-bit processor.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorscotthm
Registered: March 20, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 2,484
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ric01:
Quote:
I am not sure if DVDP can run on 64bit Win 7 and 64bit processor

Yes, it does.  It even runs on a Windows 8.1 64-bit system, which is what I'm running it on.

---------------
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,049
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ric01:
Quote:
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:
Yes, but if you can afford to buy enough DVDs to make that happen, you can afford $30, and a new computer.


I plan to run the DVDP on my current Core 2 Duo Win 7 32 bit until it slows to a crawl, hence my previous question about the tipping point

Yes, down the road, I planned to buy a new 64bit computer for my new video editing software that only works with 64 bit Win7 Ultimate version but I am not sure if DVDP can run on 64bit Win 7 and 64bit processor...... I am just planning ahead regarding the timing of my various purchases :-)

Any ideas welcome :-)

You are having way too much fun ...
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Ric01
Registered: June 15, 2014
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
BIG thanks everyone for your sharing !! Very Much appreciated
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantMark Harrison
I like IMDB
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 3,321
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting scotthm:
Quote:
Quoting Ric01:
Quote:
I am not sure if DVDP can run on 64bit Win 7 and 64bit processor

Yes, it does.  It even runs on a Windows 8.1 64-bit system, which is what I'm running it on.


It ever runs on Windows 8.1 running in a virtual machine running on a 64-bit Mac. 

I wouldn't expect you to run into any problems at all with those hardware specs.
Get the CSVExport and Database Query plug-ins here.
Create fake parent profiles to organize your collection.
Ric01
Registered: June 15, 2014
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Thanks everyone for sharing from your very rich experiences with DVDP.

I am currently re-arranging all my DVDs physically in one spot, (I had previously lost count what I owned...they are everywhere in various rooms, various shelves/cabinets and I had already realized i had bought duplicates and triplicates of the same movies over the last 8 years..especially when I grabbed them on impulse during black Friday sale in Target and Walmart and months later...realized they are duplicates.

After my physically arrangement, I would then assign a location number of each specific DVD in the DVDP database. That way, not only would I be able to search DVDP for shows to watch, I would know where that particular DVD will be located. I look forward to that day :-)
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,049
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
I thought you said you had an Excel file. If not, wouldn't it make sense to be cataloging the DVDs as you move them?
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Ric01
Registered: June 15, 2014
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
You are right mediadogg.. I have an excel file that was hastily put together years ago when my collection was small at that time.

The excel entries only show the DVD titles and do not indicate which room and which cabinet and shelf the DVDs are being stored......so..for this clean-up exercise of mine,  I am locating where they are, moved them, tagged them so that the location where I kept each DVD can be inputted into DVDP ...thanks for your good idea to do this at the same time.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbbbbb
on steroids
Registered: March 14, 2007
Posts: 5,734
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ric01:
Quote:
The excel entries only show the DVD titles

A quite sophisticated sheet.
Don't confuse while the film is playing with when the film is played. [Ken Cole, DVD Profiler Architect]
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,049
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ric01:
Quote:
You are right mediadogg.. I have an excel file that was hastily put together years ago when my collection was small at that time.

The excel entries only show the DVD titles and do not indicate which room and which cabinet and shelf the DVDs are being stored......so..for this clean-up exercise of mine,  I am locating where they are, moved them, tagged them so that the location where I kept each DVD can be inputted into DVDP ...thanks for your good idea to do this at the same time.

The easiest way to do it would be to purchase one of the mobile versions and simply bar code scan the item, add the "Location" and "Slot", repeat. This gives you all you need to build a database automatically later.

If you still refuse to purchase anything, then you could keep a (preferably text) file as follows:

UPC, Location, Slot                                - First line is a header
"upc#","location info1","location info 2"
... etc for as many as you want. UPCs can be scanned with a barcode scanner

I suggest text file since Excel will reformat UPCs as floating point numbers unless you are very careful. Later, when you get some software, a simple script can be used to import that file.

Note: The cost of a mobile license is even cheaper than buying a barcode scanner for your PC.

The next step should be obvious.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
Ric01
Registered: June 15, 2014
Posts: 13
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Good pointers mediadogg... I will also be getting a full paid version of DVDP after I install a second internal hard-drive D: of my PC in anticipation of the huge DVDP database as I plan to save the database on drive D

I like the mobile version idea a lot but I am using blackberry (employer issued) at the moment....and not sure if the mobile app for DVDP will work for Blackberry?

Thanks again
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,049
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ric01:
Quote:
Good pointers mediadogg... I will also be getting a full paid version of DVDP after I install a second internal hard-drive D: of my PC in anticipation of the huge DVDP database as I plan to save the database on drive D

I like the mobile version idea a lot but I am using blackberry (employer issued) at the moment....and not sure if the mobile app for DVDP will work for Blackberry?

Thanks again

The database will not be that huge. And I would recommend as a new user not to install in any other way than standard. You can always move the database in the future if needed, but it is not likely. Don't make things more complicated than need be. IMHO you could have had a large fraction of the database built by now if you had simply gotten the program and gotten started. "Just do it" as they say.

Well that's it for me. Good luck. No need to answer me back unless you have a progress report.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
    Invelos Forums->General: New Users Forum Page: 1 2 3 4  Previous   Next