Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
always best to close off Profiler instead of running continously.
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
i have always when finished closed off profiler and get it off my desktop .. but occasionally I forget,  especially after a backup to another drive .. 

I find the entire program unresponsive and/with frozen panels etc .. 

wonder why that is?  I can leave word docs up  or my emails open and can have immediate response with my windows XP PC ..
my specs are
Total Physical Memory 4,096.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.84 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 5.09 GB

edit:upon a reboot of the PC my available Physical Memory goes up ..
Total Physical Memory 4,096.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 2.38 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 5.09 GB
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
 Last edited: by widescreenforever
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorrdodolak
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,132
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Open programs take up available memory, but it's possible DVDProfiler might have a memory leak.  I just opened DVDProfiler 4.0 RC and out of the gate it's currently taking up ~250 MB.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,880
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Try it without plugins sometime. Let me know if you find one of mine at fault (BulkEdit or LoadDVD). Of course plugins use memory while working, but the question is whether a "leak" exists. A leak is when the memory continues to grow without bounds while the program is running, due to incorrect management of temporary resources.

Actually from 2.38 to 1.84 GB is not all that much (540 MB) for the main program and plugins. The program freezing may be due to something else other than simply memory usage. All programs require memory to do work.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,898
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I always close DVDP after use. It only takes a few seconds to relaunch. As a person who was in IT for many years, I know from experience, most programs do not like to run 24/7. During a session, I may have Chrome, DVDP, Photoshop, PowerDVD 17, BDInfo, QuarkXPress and few others open anywhere from 2 to 6 hours at a clip, but before I walk away, I close all which for the most part keeps memory open and inactive for the next session.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorrdodolak
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,132
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I've noticed some strange issues in the past when I accidently left DVDProfiler open and the computer when into sleep mode.  I seem to recall temporary freezing and cascading error messages, but it hasn't happened frequently so I never bothered to troubleshoot.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting mediadogg:
Quote:
The program freezing may be due to something else other than simply memory usage. All programs require memory to do work.


It was the only program open..  and I know that with profiler closed and the PC running in sleep mode,  for even 12 hours,  I get immediate key responses when I wake up PC and go to internet or word ..
haven't had a chance yet to uninstall the plugins and then run again open..
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorbbbbb
on steroids
Registered: March 14, 2007
Posts: 5,734
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting widescreenforever:
Quote:
It was the only program open..  and I know that with profiler closed and the PC running in sleep mode,  for even 12 hours,  I get immediate key responses when I wake up PC and go to internet or word ..

Windows XP is 16 years old ..
Don't confuse while the film is playing with when the film is played. [Ken Cole, DVD Profiler Architect]
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
True and the same thing happened over 12 years ago  ., invelos  is still compatible it shouldn't be the issue .
I could run the same test with my other two windows 10 platforms on my other pcs and  sure I'd still have the same scenario.
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorThe Movieman
DVDP User Since 2007
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,242
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting widescreenforever:
Quote:
True and the same thing happened over 12 years ago  ., invelos  is still compatible it shouldn't be the issue .
I could run the same test with my other two windows 10 platforms on my other pcs and  sure I'd still have the same scenario.


Not sure why you bother responding to him.
Movieman's Guide to the Movies
http://www.moviemansguide.com

Follow Me:
@moviemansguide
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorateo357
Registered: December 27, 2009
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 4,671
Posted:
PM this userDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting The Movieman:
Quote:
Quoting widescreenforever:
Quote:
True and the same thing happened over 12 years ago  ., invelos  is still compatible it shouldn't be the issue .
I could run the same test with my other two windows 10 platforms on my other pcs and  sure I'd still have the same scenario.


Not sure why you bother responding to him.



Not sure why you care.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,880
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting widescreenforever:
Quote:
True and the same thing happened over 12 years ago  ., invelos  is still compatible it shouldn't be the issue .
I could run the same test with my other two windows 10 platforms on my other pcs and  sure I'd still have the same scenario.

Might be worth a try. Microsoft would probably claim that Windows 10 memory management is better than XP. Also, application compatibility is typically at a level that is insulated from the raw hardware and the even the OS. So the application makes the same "call" internally, but the system libraries (dlls) will be different and contain different code, for better or worse.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'll run test tonight ..
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorThe Movieman
DVDP User Since 2007
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,242
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Nevermind. Not worth it.

On the topic, I usually don't leave it running very long, but when I have (on Windows 7), I don't recall having any problems.
Movieman's Guide to the Movies
http://www.moviemansguide.com

Follow Me:
@moviemansguide
 Last edited: by The Movieman
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 4,880
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
I actually run my shared version on Windows Home Server 2011 24x7 with no issues. That is a 64 bit system with gobs of memory. With my plugins enabled.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
 Last edited: by mediadogg
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,898
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
As a side note: Sleep mode is not the friendliest mode in the world for programs. It can take 2 to 5 minutes for everything to wake up properly and then it won't be as clean as quitting all running programs and turning off the monitor. I personally quit all running programs, turn off the monitor and leave my computer running 24/7 and only restart if there's an update or something don't seem quite right. Windows XP is way to old for the modern world.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
just to follow up here .. It was a memory leak,, but strange thing is its about the only program running non stop that issued this problem to me ... right now I have an issue i'm looking into is did I get Hacked?
I'm asking this as I have been a member for 15 + years ,and this notice came out of the blue..  see images



In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
 Last edited: by widescreenforever
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1 2  Previous   Next