Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1  Previous   Next
'Out of memory' error, large database (~8900 profiles)
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKishiro
Registered: March 20, 2007
Norway Posts: 15
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
DVD Profiler is getting more and more unstable for me. I often get an 'out of memory' error when the program is using about 570 mb RAM (out of 32 GB). This happens when I've edited some profiles or used the program for 10-20 minutes. The memory usage starts about 320 mb and it will slowly increase to about 560-670 mb when it will eventually show me the 'out of memory' error forcing med to restart the program.

I've repaired the database and also done a backup/restore of it. The problems persists.

Do anyone have any tips on how to fix this ? (without selling of BDs to decrease the collection )
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorThe Movieman
DVDP User Since 2007
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 2,335
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Wow, that's unusual. I have 11k profiles and never run across the issue.

What system are you using?
Movieman's Guide to the Movies
http://www.moviemansguide.com

Follow Me:
@moviemansguide
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorKishiro
Registered: March 20, 2007
Norway Posts: 15
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I'm running on Windows 7 Pro x64 with 32 GB RAM, Samsung EVO 850 SSD Drive and a Intel Core i7-3970x 6-Core CPU. DVDProfiler is the latest Build (v4.0.0.1762)

The problem started this week. I've been using DVDProfiler since 1999 (v0.9.4) and I haven't had issues quite like this before..

TheMovieMan; Good to know that post-11k collections are working fine    That's quite an impressive collection. Anyways, If anyone have any tips please let me know.

I also get a 'Can't allocate the DIB handle' error sometimes. I'll be checking with Sysiinternals' ProcMon to see if I can isolate what is happening before the memory error occurs. So far I haven't found any one-thing that will cause it. It could happen when I'm in the 'Add DVDs to collection' causing the the program not to be able to list all the titles, or when I'm browsing the collection suddenly there will be no more memory to show the coverscans.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,994
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Do you have enough hard drive space for the page file to work in. Possible bad RAM stick. I can't remember whether Win 7 allowed you to allocate how much ram space a program could use, but if it does, make sure it's not set to low. That's the best I can come up with just off the top of my head.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile Registrantmediadogg
Aim high. Ride the wind.
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Highest Rating
United States Posts: 5,049
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageDirect link to this postReply with quote
I would focus in ANY changes that have been made to your system since last week, when things were working. Anything: windows update, new program installed, new DVDP plugin, whatever. More often that not, it was something that recently changed.
Thanks for your support.
Free Plugins available here.
Advanced plugins available here.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,366
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Ive been complaining about this issue for well over 15 years  and have given up on it ..

'The Out of Stream  ( or is it Steam? )  is the error I get when I'm trying to reload from a backup ,  my .dbp  is on another drive ..  frustrating and it doesn't matter if it is windows XP  or 7  or 8  or today  10.

One work around I have found over the years  is to completely remove all traces of profiler from your My Documents folder .. ( after you your have made a successful backup to another drive or thumb drive ..)

then reinstall a fresh copy of Profiler---  then - with no titles in this base reload your .dbp form another drive  and don't touch any keys  while this is installing  ..
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
 Last edited: by widescreenforever
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar ContributorMattH
Registered: March 22, 2007
Australia Posts: 8
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Kishiro:
Quote:
DVD Profiler is getting more and more unstable for me. I often get an 'out of memory' error when the program is using about 570 mb RAM (out of 32 GB). This happens when I've edited some profiles or used the program for 10-20 minutes. The memory usage starts about 320 mb and it will slowly increase to about 560-670 mb when it will eventually show me the 'out of memory' error forcing med to restart the program.

I've repaired the database and also done a backup/restore of it. The problems persists.

Do anyone have any tips on how to fix this ? (without selling of BDs to decrease the collection )


I've been getting the "Out of memory" error (and similar) recently too, almost every time I edited a profile. Seems to happen only when I have the "Discs" (or Disc Info) panel/window visible on my main layout page. Still testing (and I know this seems obscure) but maybe worth a try...
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantrgrun1
Registered: September 19, 2018
Posts: 4
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Kishiro:
Quote:
I'm running on Windows 7 Pro x64 with 32 GB RAM, Samsung EVO 850 SSD Drive and a Intel Core i7-3970x 6-Core CPU. DVDProfiler is the latest Build (v4.0.0.1762)

The problem started this week. I've been using DVDProfiler since 1999 (v0.9.4) and I haven't had issues quite like this before..
I also get a 'Can't allocate the DIB handle' error sometimes..


This is my firs post in the forum (Woohoo) A persistent windows problem is "Handles" If you are comfortable in the registry, try resetting them to values much higher Than the windows defaults. Here is a paste from my notes
I set my GDP max slightly lower than the max but see how it goes for you. It can magically fix a lot of problems like this ...or do nothing if the issue is elsewhere
_____
Max out windows Handles


HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\ CurrentVersion\Windows\USERProcessHandleQuota and GDIProcessHandleQuota

GDP Max = 16,384


HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\ CurrentVersion\Windows\USERProcessHandleQuota

USERProcessHandleQuota Max = 18000

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows\GDIProcessHandleQuota

This value can be set to a number between 256 and 65,536.
    Invelos Forums->DVD Profiler: Desktop Technical Support Page: 1  Previous   Next