Welcome to the Invelos forums. Please read the forum rules before posting.

Read access to our public forums is open to everyone. To post messages, a free registration is required.

If you have an Invelos account, sign in to post.

    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next
How to tell if a 1.85 ratio dvd/blu-ray is 1.78 ratio on a HDTV?
Author Message
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorCubbyUps
Registered: March 14, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
United States Posts: 3,276
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Just wondering how to really tell if a 1.85 ratio dvd/blu-ray is actually 1.78 ratio on a HDTV.

For example I was recently watching Airplane II and it completely fills up my screen.
But on other 1.85 anamorphic ratio dvds, such as The Adventures of Rocky & Bullwinkle there is are very small black bars on the top & bottom.

Does this mean that Airplane II is actually 1.78 instead of 1.85 and would just stating that it fills up my screen be good enough to change the aspect ratio of similar dvds/blu-rays?
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributoriPatsa
Zzzzzzz
Registered: March 13, 2007
Sweden Posts: 2,939
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting CubbyUps:
Quote:
Just wondering how to really tell if a 1.85 ratio dvd/blu-ray is actually 1.78 ratio on a HDTV.

For example I was recently watching Airplane II and it completely fills up my screen.
But on other 1.85 anamorphic ratio dvds, such as The Adventures of Rocky & Bullwinkle there is are very small black bars on the top & bottom.

Does this mean that Airplane II is actually 1.78 instead of 1.85 and would just stating that it fills up my screen be good enough to change the aspect ratio of similar dvds/blu-rays?


Yes. I've found in the past that most 1.85:1 Paramount titles are actually 1.78:1.
Patrik
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorThe Movieman
DVDP User Since 2007
Registered: March 18, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
United States Posts: 2,241
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting KinoNiki:
Quote:
Quoting CubbyUps:
Quote:
Just wondering how to really tell if a 1.85 ratio dvd/blu-ray is actually 1.78 ratio on a HDTV.

For example I was recently watching Airplane II and it completely fills up my screen.
But on other 1.85 anamorphic ratio dvds, such as The Adventures of Rocky & Bullwinkle there is are very small black bars on the top & bottom.

Does this mean that Airplane II is actually 1.78 instead of 1.85 and would just stating that it fills up my screen be good enough to change the aspect ratio of similar dvds/blu-rays?


Yes. I've found in the past that most 1.85:1 Paramount titles are actually 1.78:1.


Yep, and Warner Brothers as well.
Movieman's Guide to the Movies
http://www.moviemansguide.com

Follow Me:
@moviemansguide
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
better still  those movies in the theatres on film are 1.85  but transferred to dvd playback most of the time are then squeezed down to 1.78 for 16 x 9 tv's .. I always find the best way to see this since your TV set will over compensate for the small black area to be removed or resize .. is to use a program on your PC such as Powerdvd ( what I use)  .. here you will actually see the 1.85 if it is really 1.85 small black bars top and bottom.,
when that same disc is played back on your widescreen TV the image 'appears'  to be 1.78 ..


I know of No theatrical movies ever been released in 1.78  ( but have heard of a few (mostly Disney) 1.75  and 1.77 films but very rarely) ..

If the dvd playback is really 1.78 .    Powerdvd will show No bars at all ......
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
 Last edited: by widescreenforever
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorMithi
Sushi Annihilator
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Germany Posts: 2,111
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting CubbyUps:
Quote:
Just wondering how to really tell if a 1.85 ratio dvd/blu-ray is actually 1.78 ratio on a HDTV.

Depends on your HDTV. I can set mine to "Overscan = 0" for HDMI-connections, so if there are no black bars visible there simply are none, ergo the ratio is 1.78:1.

cya, Mithi
Mithi's little XSLT tinkering - the power of XML          Store and find Alternative Covers
The DVD Profiler Wiki - DVDProKB:Community - recent additions: 'Workaround for "Paste and Append Crew"-problem' and 'Making mass changes'
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributordee1959jay
Registered: March 19, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
Netherlands Posts: 5,847
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Mithi is right. Most HDTVs' standard settings involve some sort of overscan, which cuts off a bit from each side of the screen. By switching this off and displaying a pixel for pixel image you can see which is which.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributorwidescreenforever
Under A Double DoubleW
Registered: March 13, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Canada Posts: 5,306
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
But you also have to keep in mind that most of /all of ? the HDTV's  from the assembly line are preprogrammed and most people will see that these default settings are pretty much are in line of it all set up ( exept for input settings and maybe your clock)  and would never go into these  advanced settings ..

and on top of that with a fair amount of others who love that zoom button will never see the true measurments of what their screen is actually displaying anyway ..  My scenario of the powerdvd on your pc is much more in line of what people can and will find faster when profiling a dvd for editing .......
In the 60's, People took Acid to make the world Weird. Now the World is weird and People take Prozac to make it Normal.

Terry
 Last edited: by widescreenforever
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributordee1959jay
Registered: March 19, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
Netherlands Posts: 5,847
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
You're right about that one.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorAce_of_Sevens
Registered: December 10, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
Posts: 2,991
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting dee1959jay:
Quote:
Mithi is right. Most HDTVs' standard settings involve some sort of overscan, which cuts off a bit from each side of the screen. By switching this off and displaying a pixel for pixel image you can see which is which.

Are you sure? I've dealt with a lot of TVs and never seen a flat panel that had overscan by default. They'll usually have an option to do it, but not always.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributorLewis_Prothero
Strength Through Unity
Registered: May 19, 2007
Reputation: Superior Rating
Germany Posts: 6,730
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ace_of_Sevens:
Quote:
Quoting dee1959jay:
Quote:
Mithi is right. Most HDTVs' standard settings involve some sort of overscan, which cuts off a bit from each side of the screen. By switching this off and displaying a pixel for pixel image you can see which is which.

Are you sure? I've dealt with a lot of TVs and never seen a flat panel that had overscan by default. They'll usually have an option to do it, but not always.

Panasonic Viera has overscan switched on by default, which is disturbing if you connect it to a HTPC.
It all seems so stupid, it makes me want to give up!
But why should I give up, when it all seems so stupid?


Registrant since 05/22/2003
 Last edited: by Lewis_Prothero
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributordee1959jay
Registered: March 19, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
Netherlands Posts: 5,847
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting Ace_of_Sevens:
Quote:
Quoting dee1959jay:
Quote:
Mithi is right. Most HDTVs' standard settings involve some sort of overscan, which cuts off a bit from each side of the screen. By switching this off and displaying a pixel for pixel image you can see which is which.

Are you sure? I've dealt with a lot of TVs and never seen a flat panel that had overscan by default. They'll usually have an option to do it, but not always.


Yes, I'm sure. At least here in Europe many TVs have their default settings set to be able to deal with non-HDMI and/or SD signals, which if displayed on a pixel-by-pixel basis would cover just a small part of the screen. Many auto-stretch settings (which I personally don't like at all) involve some sort of overscan by default as well.

Now personally I always leave overscan off, because I want to see the entire image, but that's just me.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar ContributoriPatsa
Zzzzzzz
Registered: March 13, 2007
Sweden Posts: 2,939
Posted:
PM this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Both my Samsung LCDs are set to overscan by default, even on the digital inputs. 

I turn it off of course, but sometimes the TV "forgets" the setting which is very annoying to discover when you're halfway through a film.
Patrik
 Last edited: by iPatsa
DVD Profiler Desktop and Mobile RegistrantStar Contributormreeder50
I was out of bullets
Registered: March 29, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 1,896
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
I finally got in the habit of; as soon as I hit play, I pause and check that it's off. Mine also forgets sometimes. When it comes to 3D, I have to check before I hit play.
Marty - Registered July 10, 2004, User since 2002.
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantStar Contributordee1959jay
Registered: March 19, 2007
Reputation: Great Rating
Netherlands Posts: 5,847
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
DVD Profiler Unlimited Registrantnuoyaxin
prev. known as ya_shin
Registered: March 13, 2007
Taiwan, Province of China Posts: 3,369
Posted:
PM this userEmail this userVisit this user's homepageView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
My Sharp had it switched on by default (Asia). I never actually looked for a setting for this, but now knowing there should/could be one I will have a look at the manual. Thanks guys.
Achim [Ya-Shin//Nuo]
Registered: May 29, 2000 (at InterVocative)
DVD Profiler Unlimited RegistrantFloorwalker
Dona Nobis Pacem
Registered: March 16, 2007
Reputation: High Rating
United States Posts: 943
Posted:
PM this userView this user's DVD collectionDirect link to this postReply with quote
Quoting dee1959jay:
Quote:
Overscan and why all TVs do it


Great article.  Thanks for the link!
Just in from somewhere left of the middle of nowhere
The Holy See  
Hell
    Invelos Forums->General: General Home Theater Discussion Page: 1 2  Previous   Next